Nominated this year for the Volunteer category are:

Shingai Mabhumbo

Shingai voluntary runs the only LGBT Asylum and Immigration support group in Bradford. She is an Asylum seeker herself and has run the group every week for the last 12 months. This group offers a safe space and support for LGBT Asylum seekers who would normally be in the mainstream Asylum and immigration groups and usually live  with people from where  they have fled their countries because of their sexuality.  Over the last 12 months she has supported more than 12 people gain their status and countless more to navigate the Asylum process.   Shingai is also part of the Hate Crime scrutiny panel. She is also part of BCB local radio station and is part of a team that presents “Migration Matters Radio” once a month to raise issues, stories and local organisation in Bradford around immigration and Asylum.

Phil Kirtley

Phil volunteers for the Home from Hospital Team, which is part of the charity, Carers Resource.  He makes up food hampers for patients coming home, after a hospital admission, helping the staff by making up the assessment packs and he also plays an important role in recycling for the organisation. He keeps a check on stock and is always willing to pop to the shops and replace any missing items.  He is such a positive person and is an inspiration to his colleagues. He is a determined man who seeks to overcome obstacles rather than be held back.  He keeps us all entertained with the many hobbies he has including singing in a male voice choir.

Shirley Holdsworth

Shirley Holdsworth is a voluntary member of the Eccleshill Voluntary Steering Group, part of Eccleshill Mechanics Institute. Not only is Shirley a board member but she also chairs the Eccleshill Village Steering Group and organises community big events such as the Eccleshill Village Fair and the Christmas Light Switch on in the village every year.  Both of these events take a huge amount of time with the planning and organising of the events.  Shirley brings other volunteers together and makes these events happen for the community in Eccleshill.  Shirley gives up her own time to give back to the community she serves and is so passionate about everything she does.  She is very hard working, committed and always has a smile on her face.  She is just fabulous!

Sajjad Sasiq

In April 2018 Sajjad along with Hainworth Wood Community Centre (Keighley) set up a monthly community kitchen.  He also makes regular trips abroad to various refugee camps delivering much needed supplies.  The Community Kitchen which has proved to be very popular with Keighley people & people from further afield with most of the cost of the food stuff coming  from his personal pocket.  He will go out of his way to help people whenever asked.  He is a family man who encourages his children to become involved with his charitable activities.

To vote for your Community Star click here

Start typing and press Enter to search