Area Committees and People Can

bradford council

Bradford Council’s five Area Committees are supporting People Can and each one is leading on promoting People Can activities in one particular month.

There are five Area Committee areas within the Bradford district, these are the same as the five Constituency Areas.  Councillors who make up the Area Committees make decisions on how a number of Council services operate and can therefore influence the support that the People Can are able to access.   Relevant services to People Can include:

  • Parks and Open-spaces Service
  • The Youth Service
  • The Council Warden Service
  • Street Cleansing Service
  • Ward Officers

Below is a brief description of each Area.

Bradford East

Bradford East Area Committee invites you to work with us to make our communities even better!

  • Bradford Moor – Bradford Moor
  • Bolton & Undercliffe – Otley Road, Bolton, Undercliffe
  • Bowling & Barkerend – East Bowling, Swain Green
  • Eccleshill – Fagley, Ravenscliffe, Greengates, Eccleshill
  • Idle & Thackley – Idle, Thackley
  • Little Horton

Bradford West

Bradford West covers a diverse area from Bradford city centre to beyond Thornton and to the Calderdale boundary. Bradford West includes the electoral wards of :

  • Thornton & Allerton – Sandy Lane, Allerton, Thornton
  • City Ward – Horton Grange, Bradford City Centre
  • Clayton & Fairweather Green – Clayton, Fairweather Green
  • Toller – Daisy Hill, Girlington, Lilycroft
  • Heaton – Frizinghall, Upper Heaton, Heaton
  • Manningham – Manningham

Bradford South

Bradford South covers the following six Wards and Neighbourhoods:

  • Tong – Bierley, Holme Wood
  • Queensbury – Clayton Heights, Horton Bank Top, Queensbury
  • Great Horton – Lidget Green, Scholemoor, Great Horton
  • Wyke – Low Moor, Wyke
  • Royds – Horton Bank, Buttershaw, Woodside, Harold Park
  • Wibsey – Odsal, Netherlands Avenue, Bankfoot, Rooley, Wibsey

Please contact the Area Office for any forthcoming events in the Bradford South Area on 01274 431155.


The Keighley area combines some of the finest countryside in the U.K. with a long history of agricultural, commercial and industrial development. This is reflected in the cultural diversity of those who live and work in the many towns villages and neighbourhoods that reside within the six electoral wards of:

  • Craven – Addingham, Silsden, Steeton with Eastburn
  • Keighley Central – Beechcliffe, Utley, Keighley Fields, Knowle Park
  • Keighley West – Bracken Bank, Fell Lane, Exley Head, Laycock, Braithwaite
  • Keighley East – Hainworth, Parkwood, Riddlesden, Morton, Worth Village
  • Worth Valley – Haworth, Cross Roads, Stanbury, Oakworth, Oxenhope
  • Ilkley – Ilkley


Shipley Area Committee invites you to work with us to make our communities even better!

  • Bingley – Bingley Town, Crossflatts, Eldwick, Gilstead, Micklethwaite
  • Bingley Rural – Cottingley, Cullingworth, Denholme, Harden, Wilsden
  • Wharfedale – Burley in Wharfedale, Menston
  • Windhill & Wrose – Bolton Woods, Crag, Owlet, West Royd, Windhill, Wrose
  • Baildon – Baildon Village, Esholt, Middle Baildon, Otley Road
  • Shipley – Hirst Wood, Lower Baildon, Moorhead, Nab Wood, Saltaire, Shipley Centre